Skip to content

Annual Awards Gala Thanks

Gala website banner

2023 Annual Awards

We the Livingston - Polk County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Ambassadors, and Staff would like to thank each and everyone for their part in making our Annual Gala a great event.

Words from Craig Jones, 2022 Chairman of the Board,

"It's been an exciting year and I want to thank all the Board members and the Ambassadors for their support and hard work. I also want to thank all the members. Without you, we wouldn't have a Chamber of Commerce. I'm happy to report that we gained 67 new members over the past year, in addition to hosting 27 ribbon cuttings.

I especially want to thank Yvonne King, our president and CEO, for stepping up in her new role. She has been an open book and easy to work with, making for a seamless transition. I also want to thank John Frank Clifton for all his guidance and support when I became chairman of the board.

I'm looking forward to the new leadership that Andrew Boyce will capably bring. I truly believe our Chamber and Chamber Board have a bright future with a lot of good things coming. Our county is growing exponentially. I am pleased to see the direction in which the Chamber is headed, and I always want the Chamber to be a place that both new and existing businesses can go to, to see what the Chamber can do for them."

Our chamber is so fortunate to have businesses that give so generously to us and to our community.  A huge thank you to our Premier sponsor, Naskila Casino, our Reception Sponsors, First National Bank, First State Bank and St. Luke Health MemorialTable SponsorsAlabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas, Allegiance Mobile Health, ANCO Insurance - Livingston, The Bradford at Brookside, Church Street Financial Services, Community Title, The Cox Company, Dedicated Orthopedics, Dedicated Urgent Care, Eastex Telephone Co-op, Inc., Harbor Hospice of Livingston, Highline, Patron title of Polk LLC dba Patron Title, Peoples State Bank, Polk County Abstract, Inc., and St. Luke's Health - MemorialDecoration Sponsors: Bilco Air Conditioning & Heating and Sam Houston Electric Co-op, Inc. Entertainment Sponsor: McWilliams & Son Heating, Air Conditioning & PlumbingProgram SponsorsAxley & Rode, LLP, Calvary Medical Clinic, and Timberwood Nursing & Rehab Center. Friend of the ChamberAll Personal Assistance.

We would like to thank Aionna Moreno, the 2022-2023 Alabama-Coushatta Tribal Princess, Gracelynn Abbey, the 2022-2023 Alabama-Coushatta Junior Tribal Princess, and  Miya Koda Polite-Robinson, the 2022-2023 Alabama-Coushatta Children’s Pow Wow Princess for being hostesses on this evening.  The Goodrich National Honor Society for being our tea and water servers and the LHS Navy National Defense Cadet Corps for presenting the Colors.

Of course, our banquet wouldn’t be a success without the help of our 2023 Banquet Committee, Board of Directors, and Ambassadors.

We would also like to thank Bill Powell for being our entertainment and DJ.  Brown Label Entertainment for the photobooth.  Southern Peach, Marsha’s Main Street Bakery, and Simply Southern Venue for catering our appetizers, dinner & desert on this evening.

Our award for Directors of the Year went to Kim Jernigan & Joyce Knierim.

And our Ambassadors of the year are David Burns & Shirley Johnson.

Our community relies heavily on our businesses and the Chamber feels it an honor to be able to recognize those in our community that have been faithful members that have grown and prospered over the years and to individual who have given themselves to help our community.

Matt Anderson, (Peoples State Bank) 2023 Chair Elect & Ambassador, presented the Large Business of the Year to Timberwood Nursing & Rehabilitation Center.

David Martin, (Calvary Medical Clinic) Ambassador, presented the Small Business of the Year award to HomeGrown.

Barbara Justice, (Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas) Ambassador,  presented the Community Service of the Year to Sarah Ege, Teacher at Livingston ISD.

Tina Alexander-Sellers, (St. Luke's Health - Memorial) Treasurer, presented the Outstanding Polk County Citizen of the Year to Dr. Joseph Goin, MD and Mrs. Angela Goin, PhD.

Certificates for each winner courtesy of our State Representative Trent Ashby.

Dan Ellis & Kim Brown-Jernigan were recognized as retiring Board of Director members and Craig Jones was recognized as the outgoing Chairman of the Board of Director and the passing of the gavel to Andrew Boyce.

Words from Andrew Boyce, 2023 Chairman of the Board.

"I'm really looking forward to serving as the chamber's chairman of the board this year and want to continue building on the growth and progress we've made.

I'd like to recognize our president and CEO, Yvonne King. She's just completed her first full year in this position, although she has served the chamber in another capacity for over 20 years. She has provided tremendous leadership for us. We really have an awesome staff in place, for which I'm grateful.

During my term as chairman, I want to continue with the mindset that Yvonne has put into place and that is,

"What can the chamber do for you?" We are here for you and want to support you and receive your feedback on how we can better grow and succeed together.

I'm excited about two new events that we have planned for this year. One is a poker tournament, and the other is a business expo.

Our chamber presently has 393 members, having gained 67 new members over the past year. We have a 70% membership retention rate and 21 local benefactors, all at varying levels. There are five platinum, three silver, one bronze and 12 copper. We communicate with our membership through email blasts, our website and our Facebook page."


Upcoming Events

Scroll To Top